Connecticut Science Teachers Association

" inspire, promote and support the learners of science in the state of Connecticut."

STEMtastic! - A series of webinars that are offered each month free of charge!  Sponsored by CSTA and The Isabelle Farrington College of Education at Sacred Heart University.   Resources from past webinars can be found here.

       CSTA belongs to District 1 of NSTA, along with Rhode Island (RISTA)  and Massachusetts (MAST).  Three districts will be participating in a discussion led by Dr. Latanya Brandon and Michelle Ellis on Science Teachers Advancing Racial Equity on Monday, January 18 at 7 pm.  

Information from this webinar 

Connecticut Science Educator's Conference 2020- 

Unfortunately we will be canceling our November conference this year.   A lot of the work that goes on for the conference begins in March.   We are planning other activities for the fall of 2020 so keep referring to this page for updates! 

We would like your help in planning PD for the coming school year - Please complete the CSTA PD Survey

New!  NGSS Assessment Tools 

This site is designed to facilitate development and sharing of classroom NGSS assessment items and item clusters (groups of items associated with same phenomenon)

PD Opportunities & Science Events

Visit our Professional Development and Grants pages for more information

  • Science Teachers Advancing Racial Equity - January 18, 7 pm


Twitter Link - @CTScience

  • Home

2020  CT Science Awards 

Congratulations to all Awardees!

Excellence in  Science Teaching 2020

  • Excellence in  Elementary Science Teaching 2020 - Sponsored by Pearson
    • Phaedra Taft, Westport, CT 

  • Excellence in Middle School  Science Teaching 2020 - Sponsored by Lab-Aids
    • Kristina Ngai, William J. Johnson Middle School, Colchester, CT
  • Excellence in  Secondary Science Teaching 2020 - Sponsored by School Specialty
    • Diane Pintavalle, Glastonbury High School, Glastonbury, CT

  • Ralph and Ruth Yulo Beginning Teacher Award 2020
    • Robert Wilkos, Middletown High School, Middletown, CT

Babu George STEM Award sponsored by CSSA in partnership with Sacred Heart University

Dr. Sigmund Abeles Award 

    • JASON Learning

Marty Tafel Awards

Life Sciences Middle School - Lauren Marze - Canton Middle School, Canton, CT "Concentration of Microplastics in Four Farmington River Locations"   Teacher - Ashley Lapane

Physical Sciences Middle School Grade 8 - Jakob Zapanta - Green Farm Academy, Westport, CT "Water Filter and Water Turbine"  Teacher - Modupe Oshin

Quick Links


"Connecticut Science Teachers Association" is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 5, Middletown, CT 06457 Copyright 2016 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software